Guacamole

010

One of the best feelings when cooking is cutting open a ripe avocado to find no spots or blemishes, whats even better is when you open five more that look the same, all of which are also ripe. This is what happened this afternoon. I found a paper bag of tiny avocados in the fruit bowl, I knew they were either ready or overripe.

007

When I found the avocados one of my first dishes came to mind. Guacamole was that first food that my family always went to me to make. I am still the official maker of guacamole, but haven’t had it in the longest time. At first I wasn’t even going to post this. It is one of those dishes that are a second nature to me. I have made it so many times that I don’t even need to think about what goes into it. I just make it. This time it worked out perfectly. Usually when I make guacamole I end up adding extra salt or lime to give it more flavor, this time I put all the ingredients into the bowl, mashed it up, and it was perfect. But I must warn you. When making guacamole, always taste before serving, well this goes for most dishes, because you never know if you will need to add a little this or that.

040-1

Anyways I realized, we might all have those second nature dishes, but they aren’t all guacamole, that and guacamole being so picture worthy is what convinced me to post this fun finger food.

Ingredients

6 small avocados (or about 3 bigger ones)

1 medium tomato, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

½ teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons cilantro, chopped

1 lime

Recipe

Slice the avocados in half and pit them. Slice the flesh vertically and horizontally in the shells. Spoon sliced avocados out of the shells and into a medium bowl along with all the other ingredients. Mash up with a potato masher. Taste. Add more of any lacking flavors. Usually lime or salt is what is needed. Once dish is perfected, serve with tortilla chips as a snack or side dish, or put on tacos or burritos.

2 thoughts on “Guacamole

Leave a Reply

