Mommy’s 4-Way Tomato Bisque

013

This week I began to feel a little tickle in my throat, and whats a better antidote for a sore throat then soup? So on Wednesday night when my mom asks what we are making for dinner this weekend I say tomato bisque. I am searching for a recipe on my favorite food blogs Saturday morning and my mom sits next to me and says how about we make our own recipe. So there you have it, Mommy’s 4-Way Tomato Bisque. It has tomatoes prepared 4 different ways, crushed, pasted, sun-dried and fresh! And it was so flavorful and tomatoey I just had to show it off! Now, while Mommy was in charge of the soup, yelling out measurements of ingredients she put in, as I frantically wrote them down while making Guacamole, I was in charge of the garlic bread. An important addition to the creamy soup. Of course slicing your finger with the knife isn’t helpful, the garlic bread was still worth it, just don’t make the mistake of bleeding, that’s painful, and seems to be happening more and more frequently to me. Apparently it isn’t a good idea to be a clutz and a cook. I have scratches and burns all over my hands from my past dishes, but it’s worth it, at least to me. So good luck with this dish, it’s really not as dangerous as I make it out to be, and it’s perfect for a tomatoey day.

001

For the bisque

Makes a lot of soup!

Ingredients

1 medium onion

1 tablespoon sugar

¼ cup sun-dried tomato

5 cloves garlic

1 tsp salt

2 habaneros – seeded

2 tablespoons tomato paste

½ cup brandy

3 1 lb. 12 oz cans of crushed tomatoes

1 cup cream

Recipe

1. Dice the onion. Cook in large pot with sugar at medium heat, to make them sweat.

2. Mince the garlic, sun-dried tomato and habaneros with salt, then add tomato paste and minced mixture to the onions, cooking for a few minutes.

3. Add the tomato paste and brandy, stir for a few minutes.

4. Add the three large cans of crushed tomatoes.

5. Once the tomatoes are combined, fill two of the 1 lb 12 oz tomato cans with water and add to the soup. Let simmer for at least an hour.

6. Skin tomatoes. Then dice.

7. After the soup has simmered for an hour, add the freshly skinned tomatoes and let simmer for another 20 minutes

8. Blend soup for a smooth bisque texture and add the cream.

002

Garlic Bread

Ingredients

1 loaf french bread

6 cloves garlic

1 tablespoon salt

4 tablespoons butter

Recipe

1.Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Melt 2 tablespoons butter a large pan that you are going to bake the bread in, I used a huge round metal pan, but glass would work too.

3. Slice the bread.Spread the leftover 2 tablespoons onto slices of bread.

4. Mince the garlic with the salt. Rub minced garlic/salt into bread. (this step does get a bit messy)

5. Arrange bread in buttered pan and bake for about 20-30 minutes.

007

Leave a Reply

