Oversized Skillet Roll

Beware! This recipe needs lots of rising time. Plan ahead!

P1050969

I am writing this post as I hungrily wait for dinner to be ready, smelling the smells of meat and soup and yum, with that empty pit in my stomach. I am so jealous of me when I was eating this cinnamon roll. And my hungry stomach is my excuse for not making any sense. So sorry. But it’s not my brains fault. So just read it and make fun of my ridiculousness. See if I care.

P1050935

I will let you in on a little secret though. I didn’t actually use cinnamon on this cinnamon roll. We ran out of cinnamon. I used nutmeg instead. I’m sorry! Please forgive me! But it didn’t make that big of a difference. Nobody noticed, not even me as I was eating it. So I guess the cinnamon in a cinnamon roll really isn’t as important as one would think. So don’t be mad. Or did I just make you madder? Arrgg I will never win! Especially since I am just talking to myself. Why do I do this to myself?

P1050924

And while you are rolling the dough out you will get mad at it because it keeps retracting and undoing all of the hard earned work that you have accomplished, never seeming to get bigger. So then you just wrap it around the  rolling pin, because that is just what you feel like doing. This of course accomplishes nothing and gets you nowhere. But you calm down, and continue to try to beat up the dough as you snack on it. Yeasty bready food is sooo worth the trouble. And you know it.

P1050974

Dough
1 cup whole milk
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
4 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
1 teaspoon sugar
1 cup warm water (90-110°F)
2 eggs, room temperature
5-6 cups all purpose flour
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1. Stir the milk, sugar and salt in a saucepan at medium high heat until simmering, then remove from heat.

2. Stir yeast and warm water together into a large bowl of a mixer. Stir in the eggs, then the milk mixture. With the dough hook attachment, begin slowly adding the flour, beating well after each addition. After adding about 2 cups of flour, beat in the melted butter. Continue adding flour until the dough is elastic, but not completely dry. You may not need all the flour, and that is okay!

3. After you feel you have added the right amount of flour, kneed it with the dough hook for 5 minutes.

Alternative to the Dough Hook: If you don’t have a dough hook then use a spoon to mix the dough, until it gets too doughy, and switch to using your hands. For the last 5 minutes of kneading, flour a surface and knead the dough on that.

4. Place a plate or plastic wrap over the dough filled mixing bowl, and let rise in a warm place for at least an hour, until doubled, or the fridge overnight.


Filling
1/2 cup butter melted
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
3 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Mix the sugar and spice together!

To Assemble The Roll

1. Knead the risen dough a bit on a floured surface then cut into 2 pieces. Roll out each piece into roughly 12×9-inch rectangles.

2. Coat the rolled out rectangles in butter, then spread the cinnamon sugar over them.

3. Cut each section into 5 or 6 strips lengthwise. Roll one strip like a regular cinnamon roll, then place it on top of another strip and continue rolling. Once it gets unmanageable to continue rolling, put in a greased, 12 inch cast iron skillet. Begin wrapping the remaining strips of sugary dough around the cinnamon roll. This will be messy! It’s okay!

4. Once all the dough is in the pan, allow to rise for 45 minutes.

5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake for 30-40 minutes until golden on the outside, and thouroughly cooked on the inside.

6. Add the glaze while the roll is still hot.


Glaze

4 oz. cream cheese

4 tablespoons butter, melted

2 cups confectioners’ sugar

3-5 tablespoons hot milk

Zest of one orange

  1. Whisk together glaze ingredients, adding additional milk as needed. Glaze pastry in the pan while it is still hot. And eat. Yum.

Recipe from Sprinkle Bakes

P1050966

You’ve gotten this far, now make it! It’s perfect. I hope. But if it’s not perfect, it’s still delicious.

Leave a Reply

