Apple Muffins

Apple Muffins

This was a great start to an awesome week, that I know I will remember forever, and I hope I made an imprint on my classmates as well!

Apple Muffins

My friend and I always make dinner for my family on Sunday nights, so I decided that for the first day of my Five Days of Food Project, we would make muffins for our first period Spanish class. We made about twice as many as we needed, but it is so easy to get rid of food, people love it, especially if it is baked, and sweet.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

These were so delicious, and some of them even look like cookies from the top! But that is just because we overfilled them…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Although I did a super size for my class, I will just give you the recipe for a normal amount of food, seeing as what I made created over 50. Yes. I know, it’s insane. But gorgeous and delicious!

Topping

⅓ cup light brown sugar

¼ cup all purpose flour

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tablespoon butter, melted

One diced apple (about a cup)

Combine all ingredients except apples in a bowl and mix with a fork until crumbs are formed. Mix in the apples and refrigerate until ready to use.

Muffins

1 large Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored, and chopped

1 cup sugar

2 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon cinnamon

2 large eggs

1 cup buttermilk (see note)

½ stick unsalted butter, melted

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Prepare a muffin tin with muffin cups or grease the tin.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar, flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.

3. In a small bowl, whisk together the eggs, buttermilk, and butter.

4. Gently add the egg mixture into flour mixture. Do not overmix.

5. Fill each muffin cup about ¾ full, and top each muffin cup with apples and then the crumb topping

6. Bake in the oven for 16-18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

7. Remove from the oven and allow the muffins to cool slightly, about five minutes, or, if you are like me and can’t wait, remove them immediately, call everyone to the table and eat right away, despite the heat!

 

Note: A good substitute for buttermilk is the same the same amount of milk with a couple tablespoons of vinegar. Just stir the two ingredients together and let it sit for 5-10 minutes.

 

One thought on “Apple Muffins

Leave a Reply

