Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Confession Time; This recipe isn’t from a charming cooking blog or a cozy cookbook I found tucked away in a used bookstore. It is from the back of the bag of nestles chocolate chips. But I can’t say that I’m sorry. So don’t go looking for an apology. I have been using this recipe for years, and it’s one of those recipes that works every time. I don’t normally trust the recipes on the back of an ingredient, but I started using this recipe when I was 8 or 9 and didn’t know any better, a good thing too, because it definitely did work out for me. As you will soon find out.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Now the browned butter was a new addition, and not necessary. They are still good without it. So if you for some reason, are in a strange mood where you don’t like browned butter, I will not approve and you can make this recipe without browned butter. But I might have to shun you for the sake of brown butter. So watch out.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

My favorite part of this recipe is that I can say I froze my butter to soften it. I mean, how many times do you get to say that you froze your butter to soften it? I froze my butter to soften it. I know you’re jealous. Cause I got to say I froze my butter to soften it. A lot. But there is no need for jealousy, because I’m going to show you how, but first I have to stop taking all the credit. The idea of freezing my butter to soften (I said it again!) was my bestie Callies, I just copied, because it’s another chance to use browned butter, brilliant right?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) butter

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 large eggs

1 cup- 1 ½ cups chocolate chips

Recipe

1. Place butter in a small pan on medium heat. Once the butter is melted, keep cooking until it begins to turn brown, sending a nutty/buttery aroma around the kitchen. When you get that perfect butter, transfer into a small bowl and freeze, stirring every five minutes, until it is no longer a liquid, but still soft.

2.  Preheat Oven to 350 degrees.

3. Mix the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

4. Mix the sugars and browned butter in electric mixer until smooth.

5. Add vanilla and eggs

6. Add flour mixture in 3 additions.

7. Stir in the chocolate chips

9. Dollop 1-2 tablespoons of dough for each cookie, on a cookie sheet. (This is not exact!) I usually roll the dough in my hand to make it circular. Put 12 on each cookie sheet (three by four) leaving space between each cookie.

10. Bake for 9-12 minutes.

11. EAT. Before they are gone. These go surprisingly fast! (I have a large family that eats. A Lot!)

Check out my project the five days of food that this recipe is from!

4 thoughts on “Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

