Cranberry Apple Bars

P1060319

This was a bit of an experiment, which is fitting, since I made it for biology, for my five days of food project. Experiment, biology…get it?

P1060312-1

I made this from whatever was in my kitchen, using the apples that had been sitting in my fruit bowl a bit past their due date and cranberries that had been in my freezer since christmas, but it doesn’t matter, because I cooked it! I do the same with bananas, if my bananas are past their prime, I make banana bread. That is how I make myself feel better about letting food get old… I always feel worse cooking with fruit that I just bought from the produce market, or worse, the farmers market!

P1060298

Ingredients

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

2 large eggs

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon table salt

1/3 cup sour cream

1 cup cranberries (sliced)

 

For the topping

2 medium apples, very thinly sliced

1 tablespoon butter, melted

1 tablespoon sugar

Recipe

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9×13-inch baking pan with butter, then line the bottom with parchment paper, extending the lengths up two sides.

2. Beat butter and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at time, mixing well and scraping down the sides after each addition.

3. Mix together flour, baking powder, and salt together in a small bowl. Alternate adding the flour and sugar to the  in 5 additions, first adding a third of the flour, then half the sour cream and so on. Until it is gone.

4. Stir in the cranberries.

5.  Put the batter in the pan and smooth into an even layer.

6. Take the thinly sliced apples and layer onto the cake in rows. Spread the one tablespoon of melted butter over the apples, then sprinkle the sugar over the apples

7. Bake bars in preheated oven for 50 to 60 minutes, or when a toothpick inserted into it comes out clean. Cool completely in the pan on a rack.

8. Remove the finished product from the pan and cut into 2-inch squares.

One thought on “Cranberry Apple Bars

Leave a Reply

