Lemon Bars

 

I promise to get a better picture of the bars next time I make them!

These were for my math class. And the truth is, it wasn’t the first try! I made something for that class on the second day, and well, lets just say it didn’t go over so well. I dropped them. It wasn’t part of the plan, but that didn’t stop them from cascading all over one of the busiest hallways at my high school. I made brownies, some dark chocolate and some regular. And honestly, I felt a little boring for trying to bring brownies rather than a delicious lemon bar or something. But I gotta hand it to myself! My brownies are amazing! They are fudgey perfection, I promise I will share them with you some day. Just not as soon as I had planned. I still can’t get that picture of the brownies leaving me for the floor out of my head!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Now that I’ve got that out of my system, I will talk about lemon bars. They are lemony. If you ask what’s in it I will say lemons (someone did, and they weren’t satisfied with the answer, but it is the truth!)  I gave my friend one as we were walking down the hall. The whole way to our next class she was hugging me and saying “I love you Ruby” That actually happened, I’m not kidding! These were the kind of lemon bar that taste like you just had a big glass of the best lemonade after eating one, it was weird, but definitely good weird.

For the crust

1 package graham cracker

4 tablespoons butter (melted)

½ tablespoon lemon zest

½  teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350°F and grease a 9 by 13 by 2-inch baking pan (preferably glass).

Crush the graham crackers (An easy cheat is to use the food processor.) Mix all the  crust ingredients together, the batter should be damp.

For the lemon layer

6 eggs

2 1/2 cups granulated sugar

lemon zest (just take the zest from all of the lemons before juicing them.

1 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 cup flour

Whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and flour.

Pour over the crust and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or about five minutes beyond the point where the filling is set. Let cool to room temperature.

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

 

 

One thought on “Lemon Bars

Leave a Reply

