Lemon Ricotta Snap Pea Pasta

IMG_0305

Pasta and I have a love hate relationship. OK, fine, mostly love. But I hate how deceiving it is. It is so easy and simple and pretends to be fresh and healthy. I end up making all these simple pasta dishes thinking I’m doing myself a healthy favor, then realizing I actually just ate a ton of carbs without feeling it. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t worry too much about health food, as long as I know whats in it, but when I make this happy springy dish featuring pasta, it doesn’t feel like a ton of starch but it really is, it’s frustrating. But I still recommend it. Because yum.

IMG_0291

You would always think a noodles a noodle, right? That spaghetti should taste like bow-ties which should taste like penne which should taste like macaroni. But really, they all have their purposes. And that little speech was just to insure that you use bow ties, not spaghetti, or penne.

IMG_0312

1 pound sugar snap peas
1 pound dried pasta (bow-ties)
1/2 cup (about 1 ounce) finely grated Parmesan or Asiago cheese
olive oil
Coarse or fine sea salt for sprinkling
Ground black pepper
Juice of 1 lemon, plus more to taste
Few leaves of mint, slivered
1 cup ricotta

Boil and salt water for pasta. In the meantime, stem and string the snap peas. Cook pasta in boiled water until they are about 2 minutes away from being fully cooked and add the snap peas and finish cooking the pasta with the snap peas. Stir the grated cheese, olive oil and pepper in. Then add the ricotta, make the finishing touches with lemon juice and mint for garnish.

IMG_0301

One thought on “Lemon Ricotta Snap Pea Pasta

Leave a Reply

