Bacon Caramel Popcorn

Let’s have a moment of silence for Bacon. Caramel. Popcorn.

We know it deserves it, to start off, there’s bacon, anything with bacon automatically deserves some respect. Adding caramel to the equation just makes it a hero, why they don’t sell it at movie theaters beats me. It would most definitely be a best seller, just think about it. Bacon. Caramel. Popcorn. Bacon. Caramel. Popcorn. Now that those words are running through your head, I will tell you the truth of it all. When I finally got to eat this popcorn it was the last of a long line of food, making it seem like less then it truly is. But Eat. Bacon. Caramel. Popcorn.

IMG_0082

I am begging you, (funny story, the “b” button on my keyboard is stuck and I originally said egging you, tee-hee… now I am egging you…) anyways… back to the bacon… I have recently become somewhat obsessed with bacon, I would eat it for breakfast lunch and dinner if I could. I have always wanted to go to an all you can eat bacon buffet. Does that not sound ridiculously good? You should open one so I can eat at it.

IMG_0010

There is literally a thing called caramelized bacon. Other than this recipe. It melts in you mouth, I swear, I could LIVE off of it. Leave me on a deserted island with only caramelized bacon and I would be a very happy girl! I’m serious. Nothing to worry about, just bacon and sugar. It’s ideal. But (unfortunately) never going to happen, so I will have to live with my two pieces of bacon every few days, occasionally caramelized, usually not.

IMG_0073

On to the recipe…

Ingredients:

6 slices thick-cut bacon

1/3 cup corn kernels

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup boiling water

1/2 teaspoon flaked sea salt

1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika

1/4 teaspoon cumin

Directions:

Fry the bacon until crispy over medium low heat, then put the bacon over paper towels to let drain of extra fat.

The original recipe says to cook the popcorn in bacon fat, I forgot to do this but believe it would be delicious so pour the fat rendered from the bacon into a large, deep pan, with a lid. Using medium heat, add a few popcorn kernels to the pan. Once at least two of the added kernels pop, add  the rest, and shake with a lid on until the sounds of popping corn cease.

Pour popcorn into a large bowl and add the salt, paprika, and cumin. Crumble the bacon over the top and toss

In a large skillet add sugar over medium heat, and stir constantly for about 6-8 minutes, until sugar becomes golden. Add the boiling water and whisk. Strain if some of the sugar crystallizes and pour over the popcorn. Toss until everything is evenly dispersed.

IMG_0085

Bacon. Caramel. Popcorn. Ready to eat!

One thought on “Bacon Caramel Popcorn

Leave a Reply

