Spur of the moment Brandy Banana Bread

126

I made this same recipe a while ago, so it was a new idea then, I guess it’s not so spur of the moment anymore, but I loved my idea, and yes I am complimenting my idea…so I decided to do it again when we had bananas past ripe and going on to be an almost deathly color, (but don’t worry, it’s been cooked down to be something delicious, because that’s just about all I do…)

109

 

These bananas look so gross… I better put another picture up, just to get this one off the brain

115

Now that’s more like it! This is the bananas. See what I mean. Anything can be made good…try me. Maybe… I guess I don’t know what I’m getting myself into when I say that. But I guess it could be fun. I am trying to think of an ingredient that can’t be made good with the right kind of cooking. And I am failing. But I am sure someone could stump me on that, and yes, this is a challenge.

118

My sister claims to hate banana bread. She will never try it, and when she does, I manage to prove her wrong. The great thing about banana bread is that it is just about the only use for bananas that doesn’t overpower the food with it’s banana flavor. I have learned the hard way to never put bananas in smoothies, because that is pretty much all you can taste. But in banana bread the bananas are mostly there for texture. Not overpowering flavor.

124

And there is a reason for the mini loaf and five muffins. I went to this great thrift store last week on my way home from buying a rose bush with my mom (the beginning of my first garden) and while the bush was gorgeous at the store, it’s not so gorgeous anymore, the flowers are dying! Help! Anyway, back to my story. I was at the thrift store, and of course, I run right to the cooking aisle because cooking! And right away I find a stoneware muffin tin and a stoneware lasagna pot. And new stoneware is expensive, so when you see it for 3 bucks a peice, and half off, you grab it, no matter what! So the reason for the muffins was my first chance to try out my new muffin tin, and it was so much better. Now I’m on the lookout for a stoneware loaf pan, but now that I’ve announced my looking for it, I will probably never find it. Whoops!

Now that you have gotten through my ramblings about muffin tins, sisters and the amount of flavoring in a banana, I will reward you with a unique way of whipping up a batch of banana bread!

3 over ripe bananas (if you have 4, use them all!)

6 tablespoons butter

1/4 cup brandy

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups flour

spices as wanted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a muffin tin or loaf pan, depending on what you are planning on making.

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a medium-large castiron pan. Slice the bananas and spread out over the pan, then pour the brandy over it . Cover with a lid at medium heat and let cook down until there isn’t much liquid left in the pan.

Melt the remaining 4 tablespoons of butter. Mix with the beaten egg, vanilla and sugar, then add the brandied bananas.

Mix together the baking soda, salt, flour and spices.

Stir the flour mixture into the banana mixture. Add an extra splash of brandy for good luck.

Put the batter in the prepared pan. Cook a full loaf for about 60 minutes, and muffins for 25-30 minutes.

Recipe loosely adapted from Smitten Kitchen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

