Pear, Tarragon and Goat Cheese Crepes

1211

Crepes have been my families fancy Sunday morning breakfast for years. We haven’t made them in a while, but every time we do I am absolutely in love.

1214

And today I took a picture after nearly every bite. It’s just that beautiful.

I was sampling the pear caramel in the kitchen while my dog was watching and I said “Roger, I have a new best friend” Because I have conversations with my animals almost more than I have conversations with myself… yup I’m strange, I think I’ve been spending too much time in the kitchen! Just Kidding, you can never spend too much time in the kitchen! Back the the point. Roger (my little tan dog) gave me these super sad puppy dog eyes and stuck his tongue out at me. And I swear he wasn’t just licking his lips! It was hilarious!

1201 (1)

You know something is going to be great when it has all your favorite ingredients and you made up the whole recipe. It is so much more satisfying when it’s your recipe, that’s not to say I don’t LOVE reading food blogs and eating food off of them.

I absolutely love this honey goat cheese!

1202 (1)

Now is the time to mention my blog that has been dormant for almost a month. I must say I’m sorry! But I was having tons of fun in California, we visited for a couple weeks to see my sister off to her gap year programs training. She landed in Senegal on Thursday and it sounds like she is having the most magnificent time already!

1199 (1)

Now while my sister is having a blast in Dakar Senegal, I just finished my first week of school and was craving my kitchen. I hadn’t cooked a full meal or crazy dessert in weeks seeing as I got back from California only a couple days before school started and had been super busy during school. That is my main problem with school. There is no place for me to cook food… all day long… cause I will do that if I have the chance. That’s what I’ve been doing for the past 2 days. And hopefully what I will do with the rest of my life! Cordon Bleu here I come! In three years… well four years after my gap year experiencing food in Europe! I can’t wait! Yeah I think I’m just going to skip high school and go right now. So Farewell! And Good Luck with the crepes!

1226

Yup I’m still here! Turns out I can’t afford to go to Europe right now. That’s what the next 3 years are for.

I just wanted to show you that my little brother liked it (he’ll eat anything) Have I convinced you yet? Who am I kidding, right now you are scrambling out the door to buy pears, tarragon and goat cheese. Right??? Right!!!

Makes 8 crepes

Pear Filling

12 pears cored and sliced

1 tablespoon butter

1/4 cup brandy

2 tablespoons sugar

pinch of salt

Melt butter in a large sauce pan and add the brandy, sugar and pears. Cook down until the pears are soft and have released plenty of liquid.

Strain the pears, keeping the liquid.

Pear Brandy Caramel

Liquid from pears

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup sugar

Heat the three ingredients in a medium-small saucepan on medium low heat until it is cooked down to about half, the caramel should be thick and become stiff when cooled.

Crepes

4 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 cup milk
4 large eggs
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons tarragon
1/4 cup sugar

Blend all ingredients until it is completely combined, it is fine if the tarragon is still visible in the batter.

Heat a medium sized cast iron skillet at a medium heat. Brush butter onto pan, then add about 1/4 cup crepe batter to the pan and let cook without touching for about 30 seconds until the bottom is browned and the crepe is cooked through, flip and cook the other side for about 10 seconds. Repeat.

Note: Sometimes the first couple crepes don’t work because the pan hasn’t been tempered yet, if more than 2 crepes break than use a different pan.

Crepe recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchens Sugar Plum Crepes.

Assembly

8 crepes

4 big plates

cooked down pears

goat cheese (I used honey goat cheese from trader joes but it wasn’t necessary.)

Pear Brandy Caramel

sprigs of tarragon

Put a crepe on each plate. line pears along the middle. Roll the crepe loosely, then spread goat cheese on top. Repeat for each plate. Then again until each plate has two pear filled and goat cheese covered crepes. Drizzle the caramel over each plate and decorate with sprigs of tarragon.

EAT Good Food!

1229

That’s Gus, he likes good food!

1216

4 thoughts on “Pear, Tarragon and Goat Cheese Crepes

Leave a Reply

