Cardamom Ice Cream Drumsticks (No chicken involved)

1243

I absolutely loved thinking up this idea and I love cardamom, I love chocolate, I love sugar cones, I love life!

Don’t you?

1251

And I love taking bites out of things and then taking pictures. It’s fun!

Which reminds me! I ordered my fancy new camera, and it is supposed to be coming TOMORROW!

I am freaking out inside, with joy of course! AAAAAAHHHHHH EXCITEMENT!

Next weekend I’m going to make tons of food and take tons of pictures and your going to love it!

1232

I get to eat another one of these tomorrow too, because I made enough!

Of course I tell my dad about my kitchen adventures for example these Pear Tarragon Goat cheese Crepes and he tells me I’m going to make breakfast next Saturday morning, or I tell him about these drumsticks and promises to keep cream around the house. Yup, I’m good, I can get any ingredient into the house with a little bit of bribery…

1234

Now go… go make these drumsticks! But I have one piece of advice, don’t serve these for dinner, they are NOT chicken… 😉

Makes 8 drumsticks

Cardamom Ice Cream

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup whole milk

2/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup cardamom pods

pinch of  salt

6 large egg yolks

In a food processor (a blender would work too) blend together the sugar and cardamom for about 30 seconds. There will still be large chunks of cardamom pods in the mixture, that is fine, we will strain it later.

In a medium pot simmer cream, milk, salt, and cardamom sugar for about 5 minutes.

Remove from heat.

In a separate bowl, whisk the egg yolks, continue whisking constantly as you add about a third of the hot cream into the yolks. Whisk the tempered yolks into the pot. Cook on medium low heat until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.

Strain through a fine mesh sieve into a bowl, then strain again, making sure to strain out all evidence of the cardamom pods

Cover and chill at least 4 hours or overnight.

Churn in an ice cream machine according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Freeze for at least 2 hours before using.

Recipe adapted from New York Times Master Ice Cream Recipe

For the Magic Shell

1/4 pound chocolate (No Nestles Allowed! or hershey’s)

1/2 cup coconut oil

3 tablespoons corn syrup

Using a double boiler melt the ingredients together. If you don’t have a double boiler, simmer water in a medium sized pot and nestle a metal bowl into the pot without letting the bowl touch the water. Put all of the ingredients in the bowl and melt them together while stirring occasionally.

Now you have a magic shell! It is wonderful!

Assembly

Cardamom ice cream

magic shell

8 sugar cones

1/4 cup chopped pecans

 

Freeze the sugar cones for about 5 minutes.

Spread magic shell onto the inside of the sugar cones, then freeze until hardened.

Scoop the cardamom ice cream into the cones, then dip in the magic shell and sprinkle the chopped pecans over the hardening magic shell.

Serve!

 

 

One thought on “Cardamom Ice Cream Drumsticks (No chicken involved)

Leave a Reply

