Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Bacon Mac (1)There is a secret surprise in this mac n’ cheese that I failed to mention in the title. Are you ready for this?

It’s got caramelized onions! OK now I can hear a few of you clicking off of this tab, saying onions? But mac n’ cheese isn’t supposed to be healthy!

Well you see, these onions are all sweet and caramelly and flavorful, because a caramelized onion in an entirely different category than raw onion. The point is have faith! Try it!

338

I’ve been meaning to make this post ever since I first made this recipe (originally minus the caramelized onions) And I was glad to think of an original twist when I finally got around to making it again, because nom nom nom! If you know what I mean! I don’t know what I mean… oh well, I don’t usually know what I mean anyways.

321

Pasta, cheese, bacon, caramelized onions, bread crumbs, it doesn’t get better than that.

I say that every post don’t I?

Whoops, I’m not sorry. Because it’s food, and it doesn’t get better than food. 😉 (I like 🙂 they are fun!)

342

That is proof that I actually did eat it and am not lying to you…

And by the way the beautiful red cubes that I failed to include a recipe for are a minty beet salad, it’s amazing… I will post it later.

324

Recipe time!

2 large yellow onions

1 tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 pound pasta

2 tablespoon butter

2 tablespoon flour

1 cup milk

3/4 cup heavy cream

1 cup swiss cheese

1 1/2 cup chedder cheese

6 strips bacon

1/4 cup panko bread crumbs

salt & pepper to taste

Note: Read the recipe ahead of time to figure out what you can start while working on another part of the recipe.

Preheat oven to 400.

Thinly slice the onions. Heat olive oil in a large saucepan, add onions, salt and sugar. Cook on medium-low heat until the onions begin to turn golden and become very soft and sweet. Stirring occasionally.

Chop your bacon into small pieces then pan fry it until crispy.

Boil water. Add pasta and cook. Strain and set the pasta aside.

In a medium sauce pan create a roux, whisking butter and flour together. Add half of the cream, half of the milk and half of the cheese. Constantly stir until cheese is completely melted. Alternate between adding more cheese and more cream and milk or cheese until you use all of your ingredients and get a wonderful cheesy sauce. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Oil a large casserole dish, line the caramelized onions on the bottom of the dish, they should create a thin layer on the bottom. Toss the pasta and the bacon into the pot with the cheese sauce, then pour on top of the onions. Sprinkle bread crumbs on top of the entire mess and cook in oven for about 20 minutes until the top is golden brown.

 

om nom nom! Nom Nom…. (that indicates good food.)

 

Leave a Reply

