NYTimes Custard Ice Cream Base

I first tried the New York Times Master Ice Cream recipe a few months ago (when it was actually warm!) and it is absolutely amazing! It is thick, creamy and perfect. When I make it plain I don’t even add a vanilla bean, and it is still ridiculously flavourful. Arrgg! Sooo good! I can’t get over it, and I made this a few weeks ago… sorry I’ve withheld this masterpiece for so long! But it’s so perfect, I had a hard time letting go, or maybe just getting around to it…

DSC_0546

But it was worth the wait. I promise. And don’t think you can’t make it because it may as well be below freezing outside. Just put the heat way up and enjoy a beautiful bowl of creamy delish ice cream.

DSC_0522

If you want to add flavors to the ice cream, the recipe has a handy list of how to add extra flavor. Another thing that makes it such a Fantastic recipe. I will leave the flavor pairing to NYtimes though.

DSC_0543

And I added peaches to make it just that much better. Totally unnecessary, and completely delicious.

DSC_0541

I will apologize in advance for all the posts I’m about to throw at you this week, but the thing is, I have no time during the school week, but this week we have no more school, (I had 2 hours today) All they had us do was a career planning activity online. I’ve got my plan. Gap year. Travel around Europe, learn about food. Go to Le Cordon Bleu Chicago. Get a job as a chef. Possibly open my own restaurant. Enjoy food 😛

DSC_0548

Good plan right? I certainly LOVE it! I can’t wait! I want to fast forward through these high school years and go on to constant FOOD! I spend too much time in school, solving equations, learning about alkaline earth metals… I’m exhausted just thinking about it. I want FOOD!

Get ready for a….. Cat picture!

DSC_0524

Alright. Done with my rant. Time for ice cream!

Serves 6ish

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup whole milk

⅔ cup sugar

⅛ teaspoon fine sea salt

6 large egg yolks

In a small pot, simmer cream, milk, sugar and salt until sugar completely dissolves, about 5 minutes. Remove pot from heat. In a separate bowl, whisk yolks. Whisking constantly, slowly whisk about a third of the hot cream into the yolks, then whisk the yolk mixture back into the pot with the cream. Return pot to medium-low heat and gently cook until mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon (about 170 degrees on an instant-read thermometer).

Strain through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl. Cool mixture to room temperature. Cover and chill at least 4 hours or overnight.

Churn in an ice cream machine according to manufacturer’s instructions. Finish freezing ice cream in freezer for at least 2 hours.

Tip: The ice cream doesn’t freeze to be too hard if your freezer isn’t on high, so make sure it is on medium high when you are freezing the ice cream for a creamy smoothness.

One thought on “NYTimes Custard Ice Cream Base

Leave a Reply

