Mini Pumpkin Cakes

DSC_0067

Like all the greatest recipes and ideas, or at least this one, was created during chemistry, where, as usual, I had no idea what the teacher was talking about seeing as it was 1st period and even with all of my daydreams (generally about food) I still manage to catch most of the content taught (that’s not to say I understand it).

DSC_0076

But anyway, I had my food notebook open, and I was going through all the recipes I’ve been wanting to make (I have two double sided pages just for desserts).

DSC_0071

I didn’t want to make any of them. None of them! I don’t know what is wrong with me, there are some really good recipes in there. Just usually nothing I really want to make…

DSC_0085

So I remembered the pumpkin sitting in our dining room, the one that was just dying to be cooked. And I decided to make a ridiculous, overboard cake to go along with dinner (which was a project on its own). But these were so awesome. Tasty. And the most beautiful cupcakes I’ve ever made. Especially seeing as they are really mini cakes that is an insane amount for one person to eat. Except maybe my brother…

DSC_0072

And these look like mini pumpkin wedding cakes too! They are the cutest! I love all things mini! Maybe that’s why I love my melon-baller so much… I can make anything mini with that. One time I used it for ice cream. And that ice cream was awesome, if I do say so myself.

DSC_0073

When I finished frosting these cupcakes I squealed with excitement, and yes I was in the kitchen by myself, but they were so happy making!

DSC_0104

And OK, yes I did spend my Friday night in the kitchen. But in case you didn’t know, I love cooking, it’s a great stress reliever after another long day of school. And people love to eat the things I create. For the most part. Unless they are pretending. Are you pretending? You couldn’t possibly be! Right?

DSC_0050I let you get to the eating part. But first you have to make it!

Serves 8

For the cake…

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon table salt
2 teaspoon pumpkin-pie spice (or 1 teaspoon cinnamon + 1/4 teaspoon fresh nutmeg + 1/4 teaspoon ginger + pinch of ground cloves + 1/2 teaspoon cardamom)
1 cup pumpkin puree (I made my own, but you can also buy it from a can, just make sure yo don’t buy the pumpkin pie filling, that is already sweetened)
1/3 cup vegetable or another neutral cooking oil
2 large eggs
1 1/4 cup sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease 8 regular sized muffin cups and 8 mini muffin cups.

In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and pumpkin-pie spice.

In a large bowl mix the pumpkin puree, vegetable oil, eggs and sugar.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet.

Fill all of the greased muffin cups about 3/4 of the way full with batter. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

For the frosting…

1 8 oz package of cream cheese, at room temperature
4 tablespoons butter, softened
1/4 cup pumpkin puree
2 teaspoons pumpkin-pie spice
2 cups powdered sugar

Cream together the cream cheese and butter with an electric mixer. Once it is smooth, add in the pumpkin puree and spices and mix together. Add half of the powdered sugar, beat on high until it is well mixed and fluffy. Add the rest of the sugar, still mixing it on high to make it as fluffy as possible.

Assembly

After the cake is cooled completely, cut the large cupcakes in half lengthwise. Cut the tops off of the mini ones. Spread frosting in between the two halves of each cake, then put them back together. Using either the 4B or 6B star decorating tip, hold your pastry bag about a half a centimeter from a larger cupcake squeeze until the frosting comes out and the release and pull up. Continue until the entire cupcake is frosted. Add a small cupcake on top. Using the same method, blend the two cupcakes together by putting the same dollops of frosting about halfway up the sides of the small cupcakes. Frost the top of the small cupcake with the same tip, starting in the middle, frosting around to the edges and ending up back in the middle, all in one stroke. Place on a small plate. Using the first method of frosting, frost all around the bottom of the cake.

DSC_0057

Enjoy. It is GOOD! Better than good. It’s great! Life changing. Just eat it!

 

One thought on “Mini Pumpkin Cakes

Leave a Reply

