Mushroom Crepes

874

A few weeks ago (yes I know, a few weeks is a long time that I kept this from you!  I promise, I will be better. But first I have to catch up. And that takes time and effort. Maybe by next week? I swear I will write everyday… hopefully, maybe, as long as something doesn’t come up or go wrong, or if I can’t remember the recipe. I really need to get better at writing things down as I cook…

Back to my point of a few weeks ago, my grandmother hired me to cook a four course meal for some family that was coming from out of town for lunch. And I’ve got to say, I made a damn good meal. My mom helped me so it was fun, aside from the fact that I had to look through every single cabinet before finding (or not finding) the equipment I needed. But other than that I had a great time cooking a lot of different food for a lot of people.

866

Crepes are one of those really delicious things that you can put so many different things in it and call it breakfast, lunch, dinner, or dessert. Breakfast can basically mean any type of crepe. At least for me. If I ate these crepes for breakfast then I can eat any type of crepe. Mostly because when we have crepes for breakfast they are never ready until almost noon. But we still call it breakfast… and this is going nowhere. I’m done. Enjoy the crepes.

But first you must know what else I made

864

Ok so the menu. I know you are dying to see it. I’m not going to post everything, but I will post the my original recipes, and give you the recipe links for the others.

First course was Smitten Kitchen’s Vidalia Onion Soup with blue cheese toasts

Next up, The Tart Tart‘s honey crisp salad

Then we had these mushroom crepes

and caramelized peach chia seed pudding for dessert…

It was fantastic!

872

Serves 8ish

For the crepes

2 cups milk
4 eggs
2 cups flour
4 tablespoons butter, melted
Pinch of salt
Parsley, minced

Using a blender, blend all the ingredients together until smooth, let sit for about half an hour to let set. In the meantime, make the filling and parsley sauce!

Once everything is prepared, begin cooking the crepes. Heat a medium skillet and add a pat of butter, put about ¼ cup in the pan and cook on one side until the top sets. Flip, and cook the other side for about 30 seconds. Repeat until you run out of batter. It should make enough for 8 servings, with extra for a couple mess ups.

For the mushroom filling

1 ½ pound of a variety of mushrooms, I used cremini, white and oyster mushrooms.
¼ cup of cream
salt to taste
1 tablespoon thyme
1 tablespoon parsley
oil

Cube your mushrooms. Coat a large skillet with oil. Add one type of mushroom, make sure the pan isn’t too full so you can still stir the mushrooms.  Saute until the mushrooms have released juice and become soft, continue cooking until all liquid evaporates, but not so much so that the mushrooms are dry. Remove from pan, add more oil and the next type of mushroom. Repeat for as many types that you have. By now they should have shrunk enough for you to be able to fit them all in one pan. Add all the mushrooms to one pan and add the salt, parsley, cream and thyme. Mix together and heat for about 2 minutes so the flavors can meld together.

For The parsley sauce

1 bunch parsley
1 clove garlic
¼ cup cream
1 teaspoon salt

Mince the parsley and garlic. In a small saucepan, add all the ingredients and allow the flavors to meld, bringing it to a boil stirring occasionally for about 5 minutes.

Assembly

Lay the crepe on a large plate. Put about 1/2 cup to 1 cup filling onto it along the middle so that the filling reaches both sides. Roll the crepe up. Drizzle the parsley salt on top.

Repeat.

Serve.

That’s It!

Try it!

Leave a Reply

