Hallowieners!

DSC_0159

It’s Halloween. October 31. And it is SNOWING! The absolute worst weather for anything but December. Anything before and it’s too soon. Anything after and I am already sick of it. And it isn’t even good snow, it is half rain, freezing and ridiculously cold. No wonder they call it the windy city… but walking the mile and a half home from school was brutal in the wet, windy, and cold weather outside. I blame the weathermen. It’s their fault, they predicted it and then it happened and I have to blame someone, and how can you punish the weather? It never responds.

DSC_0160

 

I know that this is not my brilliant, original idea to cover my wieners   in biscuit dough, but I am the first to call them Hallowieners… I hope.

DSC_0173

But they are good! So that is a plus! Along with the fact that they are adorable and super easy to make and I am sorry I am posting this so late in the day, I hope you still get a chance to make them before Halloween is completely over! You have until midnight peoples! So get moving!

DSC_0162

This year I’m not exactly doing much of anything for Halloween, just handing out candy, so I figured it would be a good idea to post a recipe to get myself in the mood. I went to a Halloween concert on Tuesday if that counts for anything, it was my little brothers middle school orchestra concert.

DSC_0151

My mom went to work infested with spiders, my brother is out trick or treating right now, he is a snake charmer. And I am writing a blog post while my parents are poring over the pan of Hallowieners.

So would you like a recipe now?

I thought so.

Here you go

Simple

Easy

Fast

Yummy

Go for it!

3 tablespoons melted butter
2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting the surface
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
1 1/4 cups heavy cream
8 hot dogs
mustard

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Melt butter in a small pot or microwave dish, and set aside. Sift two cups flour, the baking powder, salt  into a large bowl. Fold in 1 cup of cream. If the dough is not soft or easily handled, fold in the remaining 1/4 cup cream, little by little.

Turn dough onto a floured surface, mound it into a ball and, using your hands, press, or roll it to a thickness of about 1/2 inch. Cut the dough into 1/4 inch thick pieces. Cut the hot dogs in half. Wrap a strip of dough around the hot dogs, wrap a little bit around the top for the head and leave about a half inch empty of dough for the face.  Continue to tightly wind the dough around the hot dog until you reach the bottom. Arrange them all nicely on the baking sheet. Using a pastry brush, brush the mummies with the melted butter and sprinkle salt and sugar over them.

Bake until golden, 15-20 minutes. When they are finished, use mustard as eyes making 2 dots in the reserved place for the face.

Biscuit recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

