Date Cake With Toffee Sauce

DSC_0487

YUM! Am I right? Yup I’m right! So good. Gorgeous and an easy way to make a gourmet looking and tasting dessert…

DSC_0497

My mom gets home from work around 6:30 and I’m usually doing homework/reading food blogs and listening to music with my cat on my lap on the recliner in our living room, yup, that’s how dedicated I am to my studies… but anyways, she walks in on Thursday night with groceries and tells me she got supplies in case I want to make Smitten Kitchens new post. And I say “What new post?” Surprised that my mom would actually ever see a blog post before me, I grabbed the nearby laptop and saw this lovely sticky toffee pudding. Well I renamed it Date Cake. Because I’m not educated enough to know what a sticky toffee pudding is. I can’t wrap my head around the idea of a pudding that is actually a bread-like cake thing. So Date cake it is.

DSC_0502

And it was delicious! At least liked it. But trust me. It wasn’t overpoweringly date like, it wasn’t too sweet. For me. And it was GOOD better than good. It was Great. Better than great, it was FANTASTIC. Yup. I’m done. I promise.

DSC_0498

Okay, just one more, then I will be done I promise. But first I have to come up with a very very good adjective to make it worth the trouble. And your anger. OK… thesaurus, help me out… alright got it! It was SUPER-DUPER. I don’t think I have ever used that word before…

DSC_0488

What makes unqualified a synonym for great? Just wondering…

DSC_0494

I would never pick this cake out myself. I don’t know why. It’s just that lately I’ve been going for more extravagant. Like these, with a cupcake on top of a cupcake and plenty of frosting in between. Basically a fall themed mini wedding cake. I’m still in love. But I like this too. Classier in a way. I should post more of this stuff. But even more than that, I should post more savory. I certainly make plenty.

DSC_0500

This is my Syly cat, that is his name, short for Sylvester. I did not misspell it. He is so lovely and cozy I love the sweet heart. I realize I post nearly as many pics of my cats as I do my food. That is why I am going to be one of those crazy cat ladies that smells really bad, and is always covered in fur. But it’s worth it. He just stretched. And then he smiled! Some people tell me I’m crazy, “Cat’s can’t smile” they say. But that just means that a cat has never smiled at them.

DSC_0536

Back to food. Like cake. Date cake to be more specific. With toffee sauce. And whipped cream.

DSC_0492

Cake
3/4 pound (12 ounces, 340 grams or about 2 1/4 cups) dried dates
2 1/4 cups (530 ml) boiling water
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
8 tablespoons (1 stick, 4 ounces or 115 grams) unsalted butter, melted
3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated sugar
2 tablespoons (25 grams) light or dark brown sugar
2 large eggs
1/4 teaspoon fine sea or table salt
1 2/3 cups (210 grams) all-purpose flour

Pit and roughly chop dates and place them in a heatproof bowl. Pour boiling water over them and stir in the baking soda. Cover the bowl and set it aside for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat oven to 350°F. Butter a 9×13-inch baking pan.

Blend date-water mixture in a blender or food processor until smooth. In a large bowl, combine the melted butter and sugars. Whisk in eggs, then salt. Stir in the flour, then date puree.  It is OK is it isn’t thoroughly mixed, mine wasn’t and it had a nice almost marbled look to it.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Let cool on a cooling rack for at least 20 minutes

 

Toffee Sauce
8 tablespoons (1 stick, 4 ounces or 115 grams) unsalted butter, melted
1 cup (235 ml) heavy or whipping cream
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (215 grams) brown sugar (light is called for, but I’d like to use dark next time)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Make right before serving. If you want to store it and use it again later, reheat before using.

Combine butter, cream, sugar and vanilla in a large saucepan (2 to 3 quarts) over medium heat and bring to a simmer. Whisk for about 10 minutes, until the mixture thickens slightly.

To Serve

1 cup whipping cream – whipped and unsweetened. Trust me it doesn’t need the extra sweetness!

Cut the cake into squares, don’t worry about cooling it all the way if you don’t want. Dollop whipped cream on top of each square and drizzle with toffee sauce as well as coarse sea salt (I forgot the salt 😦 but that doesn’t mean you have to…)

 
DSC_0490

Yum. I want one. Wait I already had two… 🙂

Leave a Reply

