First Snow + Oversized Nutella Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

671

First Snow! In November! Last night it was gorgeous. So pretty, that I was able to get over the fact that it is November. And Snowing! So totally not fair. What happened to fall? It snuck past me unnoticed, for the most part. But I got over my annoyance and ran outside to take pictures of the pristine world.

737And I made a little present for you too. They are stuffed with nutella and sprinkled with salt.

761Arg! So good. I want another. Even though each one was nearly the size of my head. And maybe that is an exaggeration. But it isn’t much of one. They are huge! So good! And you can make them smaller. But it’s fun when they are big!  And then you aren’t compelled to eat about 20 of them. Whenever I make chocolate chip cookies at my house, the first dozen is gone before the next batch is even in the oven! But a lot of that is because I have a brother that is growing exponentially. One day he is shorter than me. The next he’s taller. It is insane. It’s kind of scary. He is turning into a real person. And he eats like a… cookie monster! Yup I thought I was almost clever for that one.

646 (1)You see, the thing is, I have been waiting for this day to come for months. He has been growing all summer and finally passed me up and is showing no signs of stopping. It’s freaking us all out. What happened to the little baby with cheeks so chubby that they sagged. So Cute! I miss my baby.

641

That’s my dog Gus. He is has the most stunning contrast with the snow! Doesn’t he look good!

597

Our tasty chocolate that is in our tasty cookies. Yum.

637Night time, and big, fluffy flurry snow can make anything seem magical. That was such a wonderful night!

611It started at the Frosh/Soph production of the Odyssey. I took my little brother because he was in a Mudlark production of the same play last spring, so he was really hyped to see what the highschoolers would do with the play. After the play we went outside with my friend (we were giving her a ride home) and there were great big fat snowflakes creating a layer of snow behind the school, so naturally, a snowball “fight” broke out as we waited for our ride. A great way to start a snowy evening! So peaceful, fun and beautiful! Then we took the dogs out for a walk around the nearby park and I got the most beautiful pictures! Well I should stop bragging about the pictures, I will just continue to show you the best ones!

653

I just want to continue living that first snow. When my fingers were so cold I could barely move them to press the shutter button, and I didn’t have a care in the world because I knew it could all wait until I got home, until tomorrow. Tonight is for the perfect, accumulating snow. Big fat snow flakes and 30 degree weather can do that to a girl…

678

And then when we got home, I stuffed cookie dough with nutella and shared it with my family. And now, finally, with you.

748

2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon of salt
2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter
1 1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 tablespoon plain greek yogurt
1/2 lb semi-sweet chocolate chips, I used bulk chocolate, but either works
1 jar of Nutella, chilled in refrigerator
Coarse sea salt for sprinkling

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside.
Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. The butter will begin to foam. Make sure you whisk consistently during this process. After a couple of minutes, the butter will begin to  brown on the bottom of the saucepan; continue to whisk and remove from heat as soon as the butter begins to brown and give off a nutty aroma. Immediately transfer the butter to a bowl to prevent burning. Set aside to cool for a few minutes.
Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside.
Whisk the butter and sugars in a separate bowl until thoroughly blended. Add egg, yolk, vanilla, and yogurt until combined. Mix in the dry ingredients slowly and beat on low-speed just until combined. Gently fold in all of the chocolate chips.
Chill your dough for 2 hours in the refrigerator.
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Once dough is chilled measure about 1 1/2 tablespoons, for a small (normal sized) cookie, for a large one, use 3 tablespoons of dough and roll into a ball. Flatten the dough ball very thinly into the palm of your hand. Place 1 teaspoon for a small cookie, and 2 teaspoons for a large cookie of chilled nutella in the middle and fold dough around it, sealing the nutella in, carefully mold into a ball – it doesn’t have to be perfect! Make sure that the nutella is not seeping out of the dough. Add more dough if necessary. Place dough balls on cookie sheet, 2 inches apart.
Bake the cookies 9-15 minutes, depending on the size, or until the edges of the cookies begin to turn golden brown. They will look a bit underdone in the middle, but will continue to cook once out of the oven. Cool the cookies on the sheets at least 2 minutes. Sprinkle with a little sea salt. Remove the cooled cookies from the baking sheets after a few minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Or just eat them skipping the wire cooling rack. Because sometimes you just can’t wait!
Repeat with remaining dough. Or freeze leftover dough for later use, thawing it for a few hours before use.
763

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

