Thyme for Honey Ice Cream!

DSC_0119

I must first apologize for the horribly long time it has been since my last post, but I have exciting news relating to ice cream! We got a new ice cream maker, you know, the kind that is an actual freezer, rather than just having a freezer bowl. It works magnificently, especially with a wonderful flavor combo like honey and thyme.

DSC_0096

And I know it is December and ice cream isn’t seasonal, but here in Evanston, it has been unseasonably warm and is just starting to get cold again. It’s been in the upper 40’s lately, so I do believe I have the right to make a batch of ice cream with this great new machine. Of course, while the new ice cream machine is new to me, it was actually my step-grandfathers first. But he got the newest type of ice cream maker, so we’ve got his old one. And I love ice cream!

DSC_0125

I feel like I must apologize again for not posting more often, it just feels like nothing is ever good enough to share anymore. and when it is, there aren’t any pictures of it. So my blog took, yet another mini break. This happens a lot. I know. And then I promise it will stop. It doesn’t, those breaks seem to be inevitable.

DSC_0110

This ice cream is worth the wait though, even though you could have just as easily (maybe even more easily) found it on this amazing blog, the tart tart. which has beautiful pictures, and not enough posts, similar to me? hopefully… :/

DSC_0090

Right now I am in the middle of winter break. And I think I have spent literally half of the break sleeping. I have never been one to sleep in in the past, but lately I’ve been getting almost eleven hours of sleep everyday. I am terrified of going back to school. I don’t know how I will ever deal with just 7 or 8 hours of sleep again!

DSC_0114

Back to ice cream. It’s too good for words, so just eat it!

1 cup whole milk
2 cups heavy cream
6 large sprigs fresh thyme plus more for garnish
4 egg yolks
3/4 cup honey

Combine the milk, cream and thyme in a medium-large saucepan. Bring to a boil. Turn off heat and cover. Let sit for 20 minutes. Strain.

Whisk together the eggs in a medium-large bowl. Slowly, while whisking, add about 1 cup of the cream mixture. Add in the honey. Then, continue whisking while adding the rest of the cream mixture. Return to the saucepan and cook until it is thick enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon. Allow to cool completely in the fridge, then churn according to your ice cream maker and freeze for a couple hours before serving.

DSC_0130

One thought on “Thyme for Honey Ice Cream!

Leave a Reply

