Roasted Strawberry and Basil Ice Cream

DSC_1473

I know, this ice cream in the middle of the coldest part of the year is against all rules of food. Strawberries just aren’t meant to be eaten right now and I just broke the rules! But they were on sale… And it sounded so good… And my friend and I were looking for things to make with my new ice cream maker. This just seemed like the perfect idea. So I won’t listen to you and your complaints about my unseasonalness. Yup, that’s not a word is it?

DSC_1478

But I truly was debating with myself about whether or not to post this one. Or the other Strawberry ice cream I made (Buttermilk Ice cream. Strawberry Swirl. Candied Pink Peppercorns. Perfection.) But I decided to post this guy, despite the seasons. And I’ll post the other when I have better pictures! So you better turn up the heat and get to work. Because Ice cream!

DSC_1392

Guess what today is?
The last school day before finals…
Guess what I am doing right now?
Avoiding my English paper (due next period)
But you won’t see this until after I have turned in my crappiest essay yet. I just Can’t Do Research Papers!

DSC_1476

I am done stressing about finals (before I even started stressing)…what will a A or a B in Algebra 2 honors do for me when I am in the kitchen at some trendy restaurant…

DSC_1391

I am a major procrastinator. I need serious help!

DSC_1465

Well back to ice cream? Like yum creamy. Delicious. Flavor.

Just Eat!

You will need…

2 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 pounds strawberries
1/2 cup basil, chopped
2 cups cream
1 cup milk
2/3 cup granulated sugar
pinch of salt
6 egg yolks

Roast the strawberries…
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
Hull and slice the strawberries. Butter a 9×13 inch pan. Add the strawberries to the pan. Chop whatever butter you have left and sprinkle over the strawberries. Sprinkle the brown sugar on top as well. Bake in the oven about 40 minutes, when the strawberries are very soft and have released a lot of juice. Remove from oven and let sit for about 10 minutes to begin to cool.

Start the ice cream base while the strawberries cook.
In a large saucepan, add the cream, milk, granulated sugar, 1/4 cup of basil, and salt. Cook until the sugar is dissolved and the mixture is simmering. Let stand for a few minutes to infuse the basil and then strain the mixture.
Beat the egg yolks in a medium-sized heat proof bowl. While whisking, slowly add the cream mixture to temper the eggs.
Return to original saucepan. Cook until it is thick enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon.

Back to the strawberries.
After they have briefly cooled (we just want them cool enough to go in the blender). Strain the strawberries. Save the juice you strain. It makes a perfect strawberry syrup to put on top. Blend the strawberries until smooth. Add the roasted strawberry puree to the ice cream base.

Allow the ice cream to cool completely in the fridge. About 3 hours. Then churn in your ice cream maker. Let freeze in freezer for at least 3 more hours. Drizzle the strawberry syrup on top. And Yum!

 

One thought on “Roasted Strawberry and Basil Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

