Green Tea Ice Cream

DSC_1845

Yes, this ice cream is literally just NY Times base with a quarter cup of matcha powder in it, but seeing as this is probably my favorite ice cream, I felt the need to talk about it. It deserves it’s own post. It’s so pretty. And delish! And anyone who claims not to like green tea ice cream is wrong. And I’m right (because I am a spoiled little brat as we all know).

DSC_1866

I absolutely love this ice cream. It’s perfect, so get ready to read that like ten more times in the 2 paragraphs. Yup, I know you can’t wait!

DSC_1880

The absolute best best best best best! BEST BEST BEST BEST. OK got that mostly out of my system.

DSC_1883

Oh! I know what to talk about. This has been on my mind for about a month and I can’t think of anything to call it. So I want to make a business card, and a friend of my step moms designed one for me. Let’s just say I wasn’t a huge fan, the card just wasn’t my style… which was to be expected seeing as he is a grown man and I am a 15 year old girl, but I really need a name!

DSC_1848

My full name is Ruby Nelly Bellabesa Tortuga. So if anyone can think of anything that works better than Ruby Nelly’s I would really appreciate suggestions! Please. I am desperate! For a minute I thought I had a brilliant idea, Ruby Nelly’s Noshes, which is cute on paper. But when I told my brother he says something like “do you really want your food to make people nauseous?” And I realized that my only idea suggested sickness. Not exactly the combination you hope for when talking about food…

DSC_1882

Alright. Time for the best best best BEST BEST BEST ice cream you will ever make. Green tea ice cream is truly magic. I promise, it won’t disappoint. And if it does, well I blame you. Unless I write the recipe wrong, then I suppose it is my fault. But just assume it’s you. Just because…

DSC_1842

Recipe…

2 cups cream
1 cup milk
2/3 cup sugar
pinch of salt
1/4 cup matcha green tea powder
6 egg yolks

In a medium-large heavy bottomed saucepan add the cream, milk, sugar, salt and green tea powder. Bring to a simmer and allow all the sugar and green tea to dissolve and incorporate into the cream and milk. Once the mixture has reached a simmer slowly pour half of the milk mixture into the egg yolks while whisking to temper the eggs. Add the tempered yolks to the saucepan with the remaining milk. Turn the heat back on to medium and cook until it is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon. Transfer to a bowl and refrigerate until cool.
Once the mixture has cooled, churn according to your manufacturers instruction. Freeze for at least 2 hours.

DSC_1891

And serve… it will be gone within minutes, I guarantee!

2 thoughts on “Green Tea Ice Cream

  1. So when I got to the bottom of this post I saw Ruby Cooks and thought that wasn’t a bed name.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

