Polenta Pizza with Kale, Sweet Potatoes and Fried Quail Eggs


DSC_0596

It’s been too long. I’ve missed you guys! I’ve been hibernating, stalling my life, waiting for spring to start. But since it snowed all day and there are multiple inches on the ground I decided that I would have to stop ignoring life and food blogs and just face the blank page and write a post…

DSC_0587

And this Pizza is something I’ve been wanting to try for a while. I saw a picture of one about a year age, I have no idea where I saw it but the ideas been in the back of my mind for nearly a year.

DSC_0583

Friday my dad and I were trying to find someplace that we actually were interested in going to and couldn’t find anyplace edible that caught our eyes. I offered to make dinner, found a few vegetables in the fridge, a pizza crust in the freezer and some polenta in the cabinet. So I made a couple of pizzas.

DSC_0604

Using the pizza crust from the freezer I used an Asian flavor profile. Chopping broccoli very small, tossing it with a sauce and throwing it on the crust and covering it over with swiss cheese. Delicious, but not what I am here to share.

DSC_0599

The polenta pizza was good, but I wanted to have eggs on it, but eggs are too big to really put on a normal slice of pizza. We didn’t have any quail eggs lying around so I skipped that and promised myself that I would get them at the store tomorrow since I was going to Hmart anyway. I made the same pizza the next day and used the quail eggs…. And more please!

DSC_0590

So there you go. The story of the polenta pizza…

DSC_0601

Enjoy the masterpiece… But first you’ve gotta make it!

You will need…

1 cup corn meal
4 cups water
2 tablespoons butter
2 cups kale, chopped
1 large sweet potato, cubed
salt
2 tablespoons coconut oil
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, shredded
5-6 quail eggs

Boil the water in a medium sauce pan. Add the corn meal to the boiling water while stirring. Continue to cook, stirring occasionally for 5-10 minutes until it becomes thick.

Melt the butter into a large cast iron skillet. Pour the polenta into the pan. Add a weight that is smaller than the cast iron to create an indentation in the polenta for the ingredients to go. I used a glass pie pan for this. Let set in the fridge for at least an hour.

Preheat oven to 400 F. In a large glass pan, add the coconut oil, a sprinkling of salt and sweet potatoes, stirring to coat the sweet potatoes in oil. Bake in the oven for about 40 minutes.

Coat the set polenta crust with oil and add it to the oven.

Heat a medium skillet with the remaining olive oil. Add the kale and sprinkle with salt to taste, saute, making the kale reduce quite a bit.

Remove the crust from the oven when it begins to brown and remove your sweet potatoes from the oven when they are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

Add the kale to the crust. Then the sweet potatoes. Sprinkle the cheese over the top. Crack the quail eggs onto the pizza. Cook in the oven until the quail eggs are cooked completely.

Leave a Reply

