Okra and spring poetry

DSC_0100

Okra is generally seen as slimy and unappetizing unless it’s deep fried or used on a thickener in gumbo, and that’s generally in the south. My mom picked up a package but didn’t know what to do with it so she gave me the honors of dealing with this tricky vegetable. I took on the challenge trying to find a way to eradicate the slime aspect of the dish and bring out the unique flavor and texture that okra offers.

 

DSC_0097Naturally I looked up the vegetable to find out what makes it so slimy. I found an article telling me that mucilage is the thing I’m working against, the same thing that’s in aloe vera plants.

DSC_0071

So I guess you want to hear about how I made this okra flawlessly, this is a food blog after all, that is why you’re reading, right?

DSC_0093

Alright fine, I’ll unleash my brilliant secrets, I hope my methods work as well for you as they did for me. Cause that okra was a showstopper, and I don’t think I have ever used the word showstopper before. Look at me expanding my vocabulary…

FullSizeRender (2).jpg 3

OK so I know the writing I do here is generally pretty silly and not exactly my most talented work, I’m just having fun! But I do some more serious writing as well, lately I’ve started writing some poetry, I thought I’d share a poem today, not everything has to be all about food right?

FullSizeRender(3)

Don’t worry, you’ll still get your recipe. So here goes…

FullSizeRender(2)

Spring
Spring, summer, fall, winter, spring again.
Starting with the budding flowers
A small window into the summer to come
Full of beginnings, full of endings.
The beginnings of spring
Intertwine with the death of winter past.
It’s all beginnings, middles, and ends.
Beginnings
middles
and ends.

FullSizeRender (2)

That I wrote at a cafe in New Orleans as a man about 15 years older than me offered me a cigarette. (which I denied in case you were wondering – 16 and smoking, no thanks…) I have another one that kind of goes with that last poem so I’ll share that too… wow it’s been too long since I’ve posted, I’ve missed this!

FullSizeRender-1 (2).jpg 5

                       

 

                    Untitled
Spring blossoms like a young boy at puberty
awkward branches swinging,
uncontrollable.
Budding leaves forming,
stubble on the trees.

 

 

 

I wrote this with the inspiration of  spring beginning to form and my brother crossing from childhood to teenagerdom. ( yes it is a word…)

On to the recipe…

1 pound okra, sliced lengthwise
1/4 cup coconut oil (split)
1 tablespoon red wine or raspberry vinegar
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tablespoon salt
1/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes, chopped

Mix the okra, 2 tablespoons of coconut oil, vinegar, garlic, salt and sun-dried tomatoes together, be careful not to overmix so the mucilage doesn’t overtake the dish.

Heat  a large skillet or a griddle (preferably a griddle). Add the remaining 2 tablespoons of coconut oil.
Spread the okra mixture over the heated  and oiled griddle. Try to make it so nothing is overlapping and most of them are face down. Allow to cook for about 7 minutes on one side, allowing the faces to brown before flipping them and cooking the other side for about 5 minutes.

DSC_0108

Serve!

 

Leave a Reply

