Lima Bean Soup with Roasted Veg and Sauteed Mushrooms

DSC_0604Lately my mom has been stocking the fridge with vegetables and she’ll make a pot of some sort of beans and a grain, allowing me to make whatever I want. This is making me realize how easy it actually is to cook vegan, for example. this soup is vegan aside from the butter that I used to roast the vegetables in, but that is an easy fix if you want vegan.

DSC_0631

I didn’t expect this to turn into anything that tasted very good, never mind blog-worthy, but this turned into a beautiful, healthy, delicious creamy soup.

DSC_0628

For the past summer I’ve been working at a consignment shop nearby my house, but a couple of weeks ago my sister asked me if I might want a job hostessing at Chef Station, a really fancy restaurant in downtown Evanston. The GM hired me right away, which was an amazing surprise as most nice restaurants wouldn’t let a 16 year old become part of their staff, but they let me in. Hold on, we haven’t even gotten to the good part yet…

FullSizeRender (2)So on my first day of training for the basic job of having a pretty face and a friendly smile, a job that I somehow manage to screw up… well I don’t have the people skills that make everyone long to be in my presence, I’m not the sort of person to strike up a conversation with a random stranger.

So here I am, at the front desk, standing there, trying to be the right face for the restaurant when the chef, who’s also the owner, comes up to me after he gets back from golf with one of the servers. He tells me he was very impressed with my food blog. He keeps asking me where I’d rather be, the front of the house as hostess, or the back, working in the kitchen. And trust me, I want the kitchen, all the way.

DSC_0628

The next day, at the end of my shift Chef sits me down at an empty table, he once again asks me if I want to be in the front or the back of the house, I find myself assuring him that I want to be in the kitchen. He offers to teach me everything he knows. So I will soon be starting in the kitchen with an amazing chef and an amazing sous chef… I repeat, I will be working in a four star restaurant, in the kitchen, learning everything about all of their technique and dishes at 16 years old… just imagine where this might take me in a few years…

 

DSC_0606Oh! did you notice my new design? I updated and I love the way it looks now! Don’t you?

Alright! Finally time for a recipe.

**Note: We had overcooked lima beans in my fridge, they were basically completely mush, If you want a soup that is less creamy with whole beans then just use normal lima beans, otherwise give overcooking them a try… It’s better than you’d think.

Ingredients
1 large sweet onion, diced
2 large carrots, diced
5 cloves garlic, minced
4 cups, or 1 quart water
5 cups overcooked lima beans **see note above**
2-3 zucchinis, sliced into 1/4 inch rounds
1 acorn squash, diced
5 tablespoons butter, melted, or oil
1/2 pound mushrooms, sliced
1 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
7 leaves sage, chopped
salt
Freekeh (I’ll just attach a recipe)

Preheat the oven to 425 F.

In a large pot at medium heat add 2 tablespoons oil, onion, carrot, garlic and some salt (about 1 teaspoon). Saute until the vegetables begin to become softer. Not thoroughly cooked though, they will cook further (about 15-20 minutes).

In a large roasting pan, add the squash, zucchini’s, butter and salt to taste. Toss together, Roast for 30-40 minutes

Add the water to the vegetables. Cook until the vegetables are tender, but still have a bite to them, as you would want for soup. Add the lima beans. Cook until hot. Taste. Add whatever salt or anything else it might need for perfection.

Heat a skillet to medium heat, add 1 1/2 tablespoon olive oil. Add the mushrooms and sage. Add salt to taste. Cook the mushrooms down until they are just the way you like them.

Throw everything together into a bowl.

And… YUM!

 

 

Leave a Reply

